Commonwealth Games :South Africa's city Durban hosts 2022 Commonwealth Games


  • South Africa become the first African nation to be awarded the multi-sports event.
  • It's city Durban will host the 2022 Commonwealth Games.
  • Durban is the South Africa's third largest city.
  • The 71 nations and territories of the Commonwealth Games Federation made the decision unanimously.
  • The final decision was taken at the general assembly in Auckland.
  • Durban was the only candidate left when Edmonton withdrew its bid in February, citing costs.
  • South Africa's record in hosting the football World Cup in 2010 and the Rugby World Cup in 1995 demonstrated its organisational ability but it has not yet hosted a multi-sports event of the scale of the Commonwealth Games.
  • Britain has hosted six editions, Australia and Canada four apiece, New Zealand three, and Jamaica, Malaysia and India one each.
  • Africa has always missed out but sports officials have been buoyed by South Africa`s successful hosting of the worlds three biggest single-sport events, the football, cricket and rugby union World Cups.
  • The Games will open on July 18, 2022, a national holiday marking the birthday of South African icon Nelson Mandela, who died in 2013 aged 95.
  • Australian City of Gold Coast is hosting 21st edition of Commonwealth Games to be held in 2018.

What is Common Wealth Games?

  • Commonwealth Games is the second biggest game in the world after Olympic Game.
  • It was known as the British Empire Games.
  • The games were first held in 1930 and held every 4 years.
  • These multi-sport events feature athletes from over 50 member countries of Commonwealth nations. 
  • Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is nodal agency to oversee the games.