Sangeeta Singh appointed as chairman of CBDT


  • Sangeeta Singh, a 1986 batch Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer has been given additional charge of Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), after incumbent JB Mohapatra retired as the head of the direct taxes administration body on April 30. 
  • Currently, the board has four members including Sangeeta Singh.
  • Singh is currently holding charge of Audit and Judicial. 
  • She is also holding additional charge of Income Tax and Revenue and Tax Payers services.
  • Anuja Sarangi, a 1985 batch officer is holding charge of Member, Administration, and Faceless Scheme, Nitin Gupta is handling the charge of Investigation and Pragya Sahay Saksena is handling the charge of member legislation and systems.
  • Central Board of Direct Taxes was Formed in 1964.
  • It's Headquarters is located in New Delhi.