HS Brahma appointed as Chief Election Commissioner of India

  • Indian President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Harishankar Brahma as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India.
  • He will be 19th CEC of India and succeed V S Sampat who had retired after attaining age 65 on 15 January 2015.
  • He will take charge on 16 January 2015.
Brief History:
  • Mr.Brahma is a retired IAS officer of 1975 batch from the Andhra Pradesh cadre.
  • Originally, he hails from the state of Assam. 
  • He is second person from North East India to become Chief Election Commissioner after J. M. Lyngdoh.
  • Brahma was a Power Secretary in the Centre before his induction into the Election Commission. 
  • He assumed charge as one of the three Election Commissioners on August 25, 2010. 
What is a Chief Election Commissioner ?
  • According to the Article 324 of Constitution there shall be a Chief Election Commissioner in Indaia.
  • Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President.
  • The term of  EC is 6 years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by Parliament.