Sri Lanka election: Rajapaksa concedes defeat, Maithripala Sirisena sworn in as Sri Lanka's President


  • Sri Lanka's President Mahinda Rajapaksa defeated by his rival, opponent Maithripala Sirisena in the recent presidential elections.
  • Mr. Sirisena polled 51.28 % of total votes,while Mr. Rajapaksa secured 47.58 % of the total votes polled.
                  Party                                     Votes               Percentage

          NDF (Maithripal Sirisena)             6,217,162             51.28%

         UPFA (Mahinda Rajapaksa)         5,768,090             47.58%

          Other                                            138,201                 1.14%

  • Maithripala Sirisena was sworn in as the sixth President of Sri Lanka on Friday.
  • Sirisena, a soft-spoken 63-year-old from the rice-growing hinterlands of this Indian Ocean island state, is expected to be sworn in at Colombo's Independence Square at 6:00 p.m. local time (1230 GMT).
  • Sri Lanka's Supreme Court Judge K. Sri Pawan administered the Oath of Office to Mr. Sirisena at the Independence Square in Colombo.
  • UNP Leader Ranil Wickramasinghe was sworn in as Sri Lanka's Prime Minister.