What is NITI Aayog?

NITI Aayog:

  • NITI Aayog' is stands for the National Institution for Transforming India.
  • It  is a Government of India policy think-tank established by the BJP government to replace the Planning Commission which followed the top-down model.
  • The main aim is to create to foster involvement and participation in the economic policy-making process by the State Governments of India.
  • The emphasis is on bottom-up approach and make the country to move towards cooperative federalism .
  • The Union Government of India announced the formation of NITI Aayog on 1 January 2015, and the first meeting was held on 8 February 2015.
  • The Prime Minister serves as the Ex-officio chairman.
  • The governing council consists of all state Chief Ministers, chief ministers of Delhi and Puducherry, Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar, and vice chairman nominated by the Prime Minister. 
  • In addition to full members, there are two part-time members and four ex-officio members and a chief executive officer.
  • The temporary members are selected from the leading universities and research institutions.
  • Its headquarters is located at New Delhi.
Its executives  are :-         
  • Narendra Modi, Chairman
  • Arvind Panagariya, Vice Chairman
  • Bibek Debroy, Member
  • V. K. Saraswat, Member
  • Ramesh Chand, Member
  • Amitabh Kant, CEO