MP announces 52nd district, decision to come into effect from Oct 1


  • The Madhya Pradesh government announced the creation of a new district 'Niwari'.
  • The new district would include three tehsils of the present Tikamgarh district - Niwari, Orchha and Prithvipur. 
  • The government's decision will come into effect from October 1.
  • With Niwari, the total number of districts in the state now stands at 52. 
  • The district has been carved out of the Tikamgarh district.
  • It will include three tehsils of present Tikamgarh district viz. Niwari, Orchha and and Prithvipur. 
  • The decision comes ahead of the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections, which is scheduled to be held by the end of this year.