Steve Smith, David Warner banned for 1 year, out of IPL 2018


  • Steve Smith, David Warner banned for one year while Cameron Bancroft banned for nine months.
  • The ball-tampering saga has finally come to an end with Cricket Australia handing over the bans to the Oz trio who were involved in the scandal.
  • Australian captain Steve Smith and opener David Warner have been banned for a year from both international and domestic cricket while Cameron Bancroft has been handed a nine-month ban. Australian CEO James Sutherland gave a clean chit to Aussies head coach Darren Lehmann.
  • The sanctions against the trio were announced after a probe into the ball-tampering scandal carried out by CA head of integrity Iain Roy.
  • Smith admitted that he and Bancroft conspired to ‘get an advantage’ in the third Test by applying tape on the ball.