Patna High court celebrated its 100 Year on 18 April 2015.


  • Recently, Mr. Pranab Mukhrjee , the President of India Inaugurated birth centenary of the Patna High Court.
  • Patna High Court is the High Court of Bihar state.
  • The foundation-stone of the Patna High Court was laid on 1 December 1913 by the then Viceroy and Governor-General of India Sir Charles Hardinge.
  • It was formally opened on 3 February 1916.
  • Some of the noted personalities who practiced here included Dr. Rajendra Prasad (First President of India), Syed Hasan Imam (President, Indian National Congress) and Dr. Sachchidanand Sinha (First Speaker of Lok Sabha) .
  • Three Chief Justices from Patna High Court namely, Justice B.P. Sinha, Justice Lalit Mohan Sharma and Justice R.M. Lodha went on to become the Chief Justice of India.
  • The Court has planned year long centenary celebrations .