Vijayanagara become 31st district of Karnataka state


  • The Karnataka Government recently notified that, the Vijayanagara has become the 31st district of Karnataka officially.  
  • The district has its headquarter at Hosapete.
  • Vijayanagara is located in Hyderabad-Karnataka region.
  • The district also be the home to UNESCO World Heritage sites namely the Hampi and Virupaksha Temple.
  • Vijayanagara district has been named after the capital of the Vijayanagar Empire.
  • The district was established out of the ore-rich Ballari district in accordance with the Karnataka Land Revenue Act, 1964.
  • The district will comprise of six taluks namely the Hosapete, kotturu, Kudligi, Hagaribommanahalli, Harapanahalli and Hoovina Hadagali.
  • Earlier, the Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa had announced his plan of creating a new Vijayanagara district in the month of September, 2019. 
  • The Chief Minister had cited it is required to create a new district for the administrative reasons. 
  • Creation of the new district will help in promoting the tourism to the places like Hampi temple. 
  • The Karnataka Cabinet formally approved the creation of a new vijayanagara district on November 18, 2020.